Visions of Paradise

Saturday, May 03, 2008

Nebula Award Best Novel winners

The Nebula Awards were announced recently, and the results have been posted on several websites already. I was most pleased by Michael Chabon receiving the Best Novel Award for his fabulous The Yiddish Policemen’s Union, so I have decided this might be an appropriate time to list all the winners of the Nebula Best Novel awards. While I don’t necessarily agree with every winner, there is still a lot of outstanding reading on this list, and I think I can safely say that every one of these novels is worthwhile reading for serious sf fans!

Thanks to Mark Kelly’s Locus Online website for the following list:

Year Title / Author
2008 The Yiddish Policemen's Union / Michael Chabon
2007 Seeker / Jack McDevitt
2006 Camouflage / Joe Haldeman
2005 Paladin of Souls / Lois McMaster Bujold
2004 The Speed of Dark / Elizabeth Moon
2003 American Gods / Neil Gaiman
2002 The Quantum Rose / Catherine Asaro
2001 Darwin's Radio / Greg Bear
2000 Parable of the Talents / Octavia E. Butler
1999 Forever Peace / Joe Haldeman
1998 The Moon and the Sun / Vonda N. McIntyre
1997 Slow River / Nicola Griffith
1996 The Terminal Experiment / Robert J. Sawyer
1995 Moving Mars / Greg Bear
1994 Red Mars / Kim Stanley Robinson
1993 Doomsday Book / Connie Willis
1992 Stations of the Tide / Michael Swanwick
1991 Tehanu: The Last Book of Earthsea / Ursula K. Le Guin
1990 The Healer's War / Elizabeth Ann Scarborough
1989 Falling Free / Lois McMaster Bujold
1988 The Falling Woman / Pat Murphy
1987 Speaker for the Dead / Orson Scott Card
1986 Ender's Game / Orson Scott Card
1985 Neuromancer / William Gibson
1984 Startide Rising David Brin
1983 No Enemy But Time / Michael Bishop
1982 The Claw of the Conciliator / Gene Wolfe
1981 Timescape / Gregory Benford
1980 The Fountains of Paradise / Arthur C. Clarke
1979 Dreamsnake / Vonda N. McIntyre
1978 Gateway / Frederik Pohl
1977 Man Plus / Frederik Pohl
1976 The Forever War / Joe Haldeman
1975 The Dispossessed / Ursula K. Le Guin
1974 Rendezvous with Rama / Arthur C. Clarke
1973 The Gods Themselves / Isaac Asimov
1972 A Time of Changes / Robert Silverberg
1971 Ringworld / Larry Niven
1970 The Left Hand of Darkness / Ursula K. Le Guin
1969 Rite of Passage / Alexei Panshin
1968 The Einstein Intersection / Samuel R. Delany
1967 Flowers for Algernon / Daniel Keyes
Babel-17 / Samuel R. Delany
1966 Dune / Frank Herbert

A few comments...

• Three authors have won Best Novel Nebulas in consecutive years:
Samuel R. Delany (‘67-‘68)
Frederik Pohl (‘77-‘78)
Orson Scott Card (‘86-‘87)
• Ursula K Le Guin and Joe Haldeman have each won 3 individual awards
• The authors with the most Best Novel nominations each have one win in the category:
Gene Wolfe, 10 nominations
Robert Silverberg, 9 nominations
Jack McDevitt, 8 nominations


Post a Comment

Subscribe to Post Comments [Atom]

<< Home